Hattiesburg, MS: The 9th Annual Gulf States PGA Sun Mountain/Yamaha 3-Pro named its Champions for 2022 at Timberton Golf Club in Hattiesburg, MS on Monday, May 9th. Olly Thomson, PGA (Deerfield Golf Club), Leigh Brannan, PGA (Canton, MS), and Kent Smith, PGA (Country Club of Canton) took the honors after a scorecard playoff of -17 (55) against Matt Brunetz, PGA (Whisper Lake Country Club), Reg Adams, PGA (Huntington Park Golf Course), and Robbie Gueringer, PGA (OakWing Golf Club). The field consisted of 18 teams.

The 18-hole event concluded with a Hole in One Shootout sponsored by Yamaha. Sam Veigele got closest to the hole.

Olly Thomson later remarked, “It was just a team effort with Leigh Brannan and Kent Smith. This was the first season I have been on the forward tees—just turned 50 this year—so that was cool, so we had a little bit of an advantage…I really didn’t putt maybe 2-3 times, those guys kind of cleaned up all the short shots. It was just a fun day for everybody…We didn’t do anything special, just down the middle, and hit it on the green, made a few good putts, and kept the momentum going.”

The Gulf States PGA would like to thank title sponsors Craig Gibson of Sun Mountain and Jeff Jungers and Shannon Caverly, PGA of Yamaha. Finally, the Gulf States Section wishes to thank Ron Hickman, PGA, General Manager and Owner, Richard Walsh, PGA, Head Golf Professional, and Douglas Martin, Head Golf Course Superintendent, as well as the entire staff and membership at Timberton Golf Club for their assistance in making this event possible.

Join us for our next event, the Ladd’s/Club Car MS PGA Chapter Championship held at Hattiesburg Country Club on May 23th-24th. We look forward to seeing you there!

Click Here for Full Results