Skip to Content

GSPGA Hall of Fame


To recognize those individuals who have made significant and enduring contributions to the Gulf States Section, the PGA of America and the game of golf.

Hall of Fame Eligibility

Eligible candidates include any Gulf States PGA member who is 60 years old and has a minimum of ten years active Gulf States PGA membership (in good standing).

Considerations for induction are:

  • Member involvement at section and national levels
  • Training and development of fellow PGA professionals
  • Promoter of the game and the PGA
  • Teaching accomplishments
  • Playing accomplishments
  • Junior golf promotion
  • Personal integrity

Election Process

Any nominee who receives two-thirds or more of the total votes of the committee shall be inducted into the Gulf States PGA Hall of Fame. A committee member may vote for as many candidates as he/she wishes, but the committee is limited to three inductees per cycle.

Special Consideration

The year after turning 60 years of age, any Gulf States PGA Past President or Professional of the Year or National Award winner will automatically be nominated for induction into the Gulf States PGA Hall of Fame.  Additionally, at the discretion of the committee it may nominate any individual who does not meet the eligibility requirements set forth above. Upon such nomination, a unanimous vote of the committee is required for induction.

Committee Structure

The Hall of Fame Committee will consist of the following:

  • Section President
  • 3 Past Presidents (3-year terms)
  • 3 Hall of Fame Members (3-year terms)

Committee Members

Ken Lindsay, Chair
Jimmy Gamblin
Russ Fransted
Ed Selser
Tim Basel
Mark Powell
Todd Robertson

Hall of Fame Members

Inductee Home Year
Joe Barbato Lafayette, LA 2017
Luca Barbato Lafayette, LA 1998
Mike Barbato Gretna, LA 2011
Ronnie Benandi New Orleans, LA 2007
Mickey Bradley Vancleave, MS 2000
Butch Brooks Mandeville, LA 2014
Norman Bryant Jackson, MS 2002
Mike Burke Pass Christian, MS 2002
Bill Caldwell, Jr. Springfield, LA 2001
James Ray Carpenter Hattiesburg, MS 1998
George Cascino Slidell, LA 2006
Bud Cooper Laurel, MS 2009
Oliver Counce New Orleans, LA 2002
Charlie Dugas Lafayette, LA 2000
Sam Dunning Cleveland, MS 2008
Russ Fransted Hattiesburg, MS 2019
Jimmy Gallagher Crystal Springs, MS 2008
Jimmy Gamblin Meridian/Oxford, MS 2017
Byron Gautreau Baton Rouge, LA 2007
Frank Gumpert Baton Rouge, LA 2003
E.D. “Sonny” Guy Jackson, MS 2009
Freddie Haas New Orleans, LA 1999
Jimmy Headrick New Orleans, LA 2010
Lionel Hebert Lafayette, LA 1999
Ron Hickman Hattiesburg, MS 2021
Cotton Hill Crystal Springs, MS 2001
James Leitz Covington, LA 2021
Ken Lindsay Jackson, MS 2000
Gray Little Lake Charles, LA 2008
Frank Mackel New Orleans, LA 2000
Tommy Martty Baton Rouge, LA 2001
Al Michael Baton Rouge, LA 1998
William Earl Morgan Jackson, MS 2000
Johnny Myers Monroe, LA 2006
Ben Nelson Madison, MS 2003
Mark Powell Philadelphia, MS 2019
Fred Schroeder Mandeville, LA 2023
Ed Selser New Orleans, LA 2008
Johnny Stahl Clinton, MS 2006
Hal Sutton Shreveport, LA 1998
David Toms Shreveport, LA 2012
Henry Thomas New Orleans, LA 2001
Robbie Webb Canton, MS 1998
Willard Wood Lake Charles, LA 2019