Team Louisiana Edges Team Mississippi For 2016 Mackel Cup

Jake Narro and Brandon Roll at the 2016 Mackel Cup
Jake Narro and Brandon Roll at the 2016 Mackel Cup

METAIRIE, La. – The Louisiana PGA team overtook their fellow Gulf States PGA Section members on the Mississippi PGA team with a close score of 29 to 25 in this year’s Mackel Cup, an event inspired by the late Frank Mackel who was known as the “godfather and mayor of golf” in New Orleans . The tournament was co-hosted by Metairie Country Club and New Orleans Country Club on January 10-11, 2016.

Day one was fought in cold, windy temperatures, but neither team was able to grab the lead. For the first time in recent history, day one ended in a 9-9 tie. At New Orleans Country Club the singles matches would be the determining factor for victory. Both teams kept the first singles matches very close. After six matches completed, the score was still tied up. In the end, Team Louisiana was able to grab more of the final matches to win 29-25.

Jake Narro served as the captain of the Louisiana PGA team which included J.T. Crawford, Blaine Patin, Phillip Wright, Matt Berry, Jabir Bilal, Obie Agbasi, Daniel Preston, Tyler Kuhn, Drew Goff, Derek Sanders, and Patrick Murphy.

Captained by Tim Basel, the Mississippi team consisted of Olly Thomson, Daniel Soehren, Chris Harder, Joseph Hanko, Kenny Hughes, David Lee, Tim Basel, Rick Gehr, Matt Brunetz, Marshall Saxon and Kevin Kelly.

The players for each team were determined by the Chapter Player of the Year Points standings. The teams participated in fourball matches during the first day of the event held at Metairie Country Club, followed by singles matches on the final day of competition at New Orleans Country Club. One point was awarded for winning each 9 as well as the top overall score, with a possible total of three points per day.

The Gulf States Section PGA would like to thank David Marchand and Metairie Country Club as well as J.T. Crawford and New Orleans Country Club for hosting this year’s event. The Section also thanks Jeff Morici with Nike Golf for providing the team uniforms and tee gifts. In addition, the Section thanks Mike Rodrigue and the Acme Oyster House for hosting the players’ party. The Section offers a special thank you to Ronnie Benandi, a longtime associate of Frank Mackel, for serving as honorary starter.